Living In The Moment

A Dog’s Life

I came back from dropping of the human kids to find the furry ones full of it! Sebec, our 3 year old recuse spitfire named after our little slice of heaven up North, was doggedly pursuing her geriatric sister, Casey. Casey has the patience of Job, the appetite of a prized speed eater, and a demeanor that defines laid back. Seb was not going to be over looked in favor of a nap for Casey this morning if she had her say in it. Seb tries everyday to engage her reluctant sister in spirited play and on most is denied. Doesn’t matter, she tries again the next. Today, Seb’s determination paid off.  It was a special treat to watch Casey join in and display the younger side of her that had the energy and desire to engage in such physical play. I filmed with my phone to capture this rare occurrence so I could show it to the kids. I stood there for a good ten minutes watching two animals that are opposites in just about every way (what dog doesn’t enjoy being loved on by their humans) engage in such jubilant play together. I was reminded in very simple terms what it means to play, live and love in the moment!

Leave a comment